*** UPDATED REPORT***
Fred Ridley, who is the chairman of competition committees for Augusta National Golf Club, released the following statement on the penalty:
“On Friday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.
In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proxmity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a TV viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Commitee determined he had complied with the Rules.
The subsequent information provided by the player's interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty.
The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Commitee under Rule 33 as the Commitee had preivously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round.”
*** INITIAL REPORT ***
The weekend at the Masters is under way with officials reviewing Tiger Woods' penalty drop on the 15th hole of the second round.
Woods' third shot from 87 yards Saturday hit the pin and caromed back off the green, down the slope and into the water. Instead of going to the drop area, Woods chose to play his fifth shot from the same area. He said he chose to go two yards farther back from his original spot to be sure the ball landed short of the flag.
At question is whether that violates Rule 27-1, that the ball should be dropped as nearly as possible to the spot where it was last played.