NeSmith Named Co-SEC Freshman of the Year; Harbin Earns Second-Team All-SEC

NeSmith Named Co-SEC Freshman of the Year; Harbin Earns Second-Team All-SEC (Image 1)

COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina freshman Matt NeSmith has
been named the Co-SEC Men's Golf Freshman of the Year, and senior Dykes Harbin
has earned Second-Team All-SEC honors as selected by the league's 14 coaches,
the conference office announced Tuesday.


NeSmith also earned a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team.
He becomes the third Gamecock to receive the SEC Freshman of the Year award,
joining former Gamecocks Brent Roof (1997) and Mark Anderson (2005). He shares
this year's award with Arkansas' Taylor Moore.


“I'm really proud of Matt and Dykes,” South Carolina head
coach Bill McDonald said. “They really had great years for us. Caleb (Sturgeon)
did as well and probably should have been on one of those teams, but that
speaks to the strength of the SEC and how many great players we have in our
conference. Matt and Dykes are very deserving of their honors.”


A native of North Augusta, S.C., NeSmith played in all 10
tournaments this season. He ranks second on the team and 21st in the SEC with a
scoring average of 73.00, which is tied for the fourth-best stroke average for
a freshman in school history. He recorded a team-high eight top-20 finishes,
including six top-10 showings. He closed out the regular season in strong
fashion with four-straight top-10 finishes and was named SEC Freshman of the
Week three times during that stretch. He tied for 20th at the SEC Championship
to help lead the Gamecocks to a runner-up finish.


Harbin, a native of Augusta, Ga., is having a stellar run
during his final season in Garnet and Black. He leads the team and ranks 16th
in the conference with a stroke average of 72.73. He is tied for second on the
squad with six top-20 finishes, including a win at the
Collegiate Classic in the fall. He finished tied for seventh at the SEC
Championship to lead the Gamecocks to a second-place finish.


NeSmith, Harbin and the rest of the Gamecocks will now
wait for the NCAA Regional pairings to be announced on May 6. Carolina will be
selected to compete in one of the following regionals: Baton Rouge, La.,
Tallahassee, Fla., Columbus, Ohio, Fayetteville, Ark., Pullman, Wash., or
Tempe, Ariz.



Coach of the Year

Jay Seawell, Alabama


Golfer of the Year

Cory Whitsett, Alabama


Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Austin Cook, Arkansas

Hunter Kraus, Missouri

Cory Whitsett, Alabama


Freshman of the Year

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Matt NeSmith, South Carolina


First Team All-SEC

Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas

(SEC Championship Medalist)

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Jace Long, Missouri

Tyler McCumber, Florida

Chad Ramey, Mississippi State

Oliver Goss, Tennessee

T.J. Mitchell, Mitchell

Curtis Thompson, LSU


Second Team All-SEC

Andrew Presley, LSU

Nicholas Reach, Georgia

Dykes Harbin, South Carolina

Axel Boasson, Mississippi State

Trey Millinax, Alabama

Michael Hebert, Auburn

T.J. Vogel, Florida

Andrew Evans, Texas A&M


Freshman All-SEC

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

Oliver Goss, Tennessee

Lee McCoy, Georgia

Jake Mondy, Auburn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s