ASU’s Wennstam, Antcliff Headed To NCAA Regionals

ASU's Wennstam, Antcliff Headed To NCAA Regionals (Image 1)

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Augusta State's Alex Wennstam and Maverick Antcliff earned at-large bids to the NCAA Division I Men's Golf regionals Monday night when the field of 81 teams and 450 individuals was announced from the NCAA's headquarters in Indianapolis, Ind.

A junior from Gothenburg, Sweden, Wennstam is the last remaining active member of the program from the 2010-11 National Championship squad. He has played in every event this season and ranks second to Antcliff on the team in stroke average. Wennstam was a member of the Jaguars' lineup last season at the NCAA Regional in Athens, Ga. Wennstam carded a final-round, 2-under 70 and tied for 36th at University of Georgia Golf Course.

A freshman from Beaudesert, Australia, Antcliff made his debut for the Jaguars at the beginning of the Spring, 2013 semester. He appeared in all six spring events and posted a team-best 72.5 scoring average and four top-20 finishes. His best effort came in his third event when he tied for third in the Cleveland Golf/Palmetto Intercollegiate in Aiken, S.C., on the strength of a final-round, 4-under 66 at historic Palmetto Golf Club.

Wennstam and Antcliff are headed to the NCAA Regional at Golden Eagle Golf & Country Club in Tallahassee, Fla. The NCAA regionals will be contested May 16-18 at six sites around the country. The top five teams and top individual not on an advancing team from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, slated for May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club's Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

Augusta State Golf fans can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow ASU Athletics at and receive short updates on Facebook at ASU_Jaguars and on Twitter at @asu_jaguars.


NCAA Regional

Golden Eagle Golf & Country Club

Tallahassee, Fla.

(hosted by Florida State University)

May 16-18, 2013



1.      Washington

2.      Georgia Tech

3.      Florida State

4.      North Florida

5.      Oklahoma

6.      Wake Forest

7.      North Carolina State

8.      Oregon

9.      Oregon State

10.  Iowa

11.  South Florida

12.  San Diego

13.  Loyola (Maryland)



1.      Sean Bosdosh, Maryland

2.      J.T. Poston, Western Carolina


4.      Richard Fountain, Davidson

5.      Ryan Fricker, Bethune-Cookman

6.      Trey Rule, Mercer

7.      Daniel Walker, Richmond

8.      Edward Figueroa, Florida Gulf Coast


10.  Hans Reimers, Mercer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s