Four Jags Named To Softball All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, Ga. – On the eve of the 2015 Softball Tournament Championship, the Peach Belt Conference announced that GRU Augusta’s Paige Deschaine, Brooke Stephens, Molly Walton, and Hannah Wilson have been named to the 2015 All-Conference team.

Junior Paige Deschaine was named to the PBC first-team for her performance on the mound this year. She ended the regular-season ranked second in the league with a 1.54 earned run average and her 157 strikeouts were the fifth-most of any pitcher in the conference. She went 15-1 on the mound and logged 16 complete-game performances in her 18 starts. Batters hit only .171 against Deschaine in her 118 innings pitched.

Named to second team All-Conference was seniors Brooke Stephens and Molly Walton and sophomore Hannah Wilson. Stephens led the Jags in almost all offensive categories, while her .384 batting average ranked her 10th in the PBC. Stephens is tied for sixth in the league with 43 RBI and her nine homers are tied for the sixth-most in the PBC.

Walton and Wilson each hit .336 for the third-best batting average on the team, tied for the second most hits (43), and each started all 42 games. In her senior year, Walton paced the Jags with 40 scored runs and led the team in sacrifice bunts and was second in steals.

In her debut season in a Jaguar uniform, Wilson stole 16 bases to lead GRU and rank ninth in the Peach Belt. Wilson’s eight homers were the second most on the squad and her 20 walks tied for the team high. Wilson recorded 27 RBI and a .578 slugging percentage which were each third best for GRU.

North Georgia’s Kim McMillan was the Player of the Year, Courtney Poole as named the Pitcher of the Year, and UNG Head Coach Mike Davenport was named PBC Coach of the Year.

To view the full Peach Belt All-Conference release click here

The 2015 PBC Softball Conference Team is listed below as selected by the leagues head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. Due to a tie in voting the Second Team All-Conference had 17 players instead of the standard 16.


First Team

1b – Kim McMillan, North Georgia

2b – Abi Leroy, Georgia College

SS – Alexis Mercer, Armstrong

3b – Sarah Magill, Young Harris

C – Autumn Parrish, Armstrong

OF – Danielle Bernstein, Georgia College

OF – Sydnee Weaver, Young Harris

OF – Kelsey Vining, Montevallo

P – Courtney Poole, North Georgia

P – Paige Deschaine, Georgia Regents

Utility – Jeanie Perrucci, Young Harris

DP – Rachel Reynolds, Armstrong State

At-Large – Peyton Roth, Armstrong

At-Large – Shannan Lopez, Francis Marion

At-Large – Sierra Newman, Armstrong

At-Large – Kailey Boone, Columbus State

Second Team

Briana Barzola, Francis Marion

Marisa Boyette, Georgia College

Kristen Brooks, Georgia College

Mackenzie Conley, Flagler

Taylor Gerhart, UNC Pembroke

Brea Hartley, UNC Pembroke

Carly Lewis, Georgia College

Meagan May, North Georgia

Rachel McElroy, Georgia Southwestern

Ollivia McLemore, Armstrong

Victoria Prince, North Georgia

Rachel Reynolds, Armstrong

Darby Stanford, Young Harris

Brooke Stephens, Georgia Regents

Molly Walton, Georgia Regents

Georgia Webb, Young Harris

Hannah Wilson, Georgia Regents

Player of the Year

Kim McMillan, North Georgia

Pitcher of the Year

Courtney Poole, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year

Kelsey Vining, Montevallo

Coach of the Year

Mike Davenport, North Georgia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s