“Gluten-Free” Cheerios Recalled For Possibly Containing Gluten

Photo of "gluten-free" Cheerios that have been recalled by General Mills. (Courtesy: General Mills website)
Photo of "gluten-free" Cheerios that have been recalled by General Mills. (Courtesy: General Mills website)

Minneapolis, MN (CNNMoney) – General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios labeled “gluten-free” that may contain wheat.

The company said, in a press release Monday, that issues offloading flour at its facility in Lodi, California may have caused the contamination, and affects four days worth of the factory’s production.

General Mills ordered boxes still at warehouses and on store shelves to be returned and is asking customers with wheat allergies to call the company at 1-800-775-8370.

Company spokesperson Kirsite Foster said, “[T]here have been reports of illness by consumers online. Two complaints of illness have been reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products.”

The company is in the process of converting five Cheerio varieties to gluten free, and this recall affects Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios in the yellow box.

General Mills has recalled boxes of Cheerios with the best by date of July 14, 2016. The recall was because the boxes were labeled Gluten-Free when they contained wheat flour.

They have released a list of “Better if used by” dates.

Honey Nut Cheerios:

12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD

Yellow Box Cheerios:

14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD

General Mills issued a statement on their website:

We are embarrassed & sorry to share an incident that occurred at our production facility in Lodi, California that allowed wheat flour to enter our gluten-free oat-based system. As a result, original and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates may contain wheat and were wrongly labeled gluten free.

We are voluntarily recalling the products made on those dates at our Lodi facility and we ask you to check the “better if used by” code dates on your packages.

We want to reassure you that this was an isolated incident and we have implemented a solution to ensure that this will not happen again. The Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at our other facilities are, and will continue to be, FDA compliant and gluten-free. We’ll also continue to test products and our oat flour supply extensively to ensure our products meet the gluten-free standard. We care about what you and your family eat and we are truly sorry for this mistake. We will work extremely hard to earn back your trust.

Please see below for details on code dates and further FAQs. Additionally, if you have any questions or concerns, please contact our dedicated consumer line at: 1-800-775-8370. You may also find a note from the President of Big G Cereal Division at General Mills here.

For the whole statement and Frequently Asked Questions, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s