Augusta Sports Council Announces The 2015 Ray Guy Award Finalists

Ray Guy Award logo graphic
Ray Guy Award logo graphic

Augusta, GA (WJBF) – The Augusta Sports Council has announced three finalists for the 2015 Ray Guy Award.

The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

The award is named after Thomson, Georgia’s own Ray Guy.

Guy was drafted in the first round of the 1973 NFL draft by the Oakland Raiders. Guy was part of 3 teams that won the Super Bowl, and he represented the AFC in the annual NFL Pro bowl 7 times. Click here for more information on the award’s namesake.

According to a press release we received, the semifinalists were chosen from a field of 79 candidates for the award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football.

2015 Ray Guy Award Finalists:

  • Michael Carrizosa (Sophomore) – San Jose State University
  • Tom Hackett (Senior) – University of Utah
  • Hayden Hunt (Junior) – Colorado State University

This year’s Ray Guy Award winner will be revealed live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia on Thursday, December 10th at 7:00 p.m. (ET).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s